CurriculaEAL/DCommunity Language

Key learning AreasBoard of Studies issues syllabuses and support documents, which each school translates into programs, appropriate to its own needs.
Subjects in Primary Schools are organised as six Key Learning Areas (KLAs):

• English – reading, writing, talking and listening
• Mathematics – number, measurement, space and geometry, patterns and algebra, data
• Science and Technology – science, computers
• Human Society and its Environment – social studies
• Creative and Practical Arts – music, visual arts, craft and drama
• Personal Development, Health & Physical Education

Religious Education is offered each Wednesday, by representatives of local churches and religious groups. Ethics classes were introduced for Stage 3 students in 2013.

The primary source of learning materials and expected outcomes is the curriculum itself, copies of which can be perused in the school library. Some textbooks may be used to supplement work in some grades.

EAL/D programEnglish as an Additional Language or Dialect (EAL/D) provisions aim to maximise the educational opportunity for non-English speaking students. By developing English language competency, greater potential participation in mainstream learning activities is facilitated. New students to the school who have limited English skills are given time with an EAL/D teacher in small groups for short term, intensive support.

Further support is given in the general classroom or in small groups, as each student’s grasp of English grows through listening, speaking, reading and writing activities. Parents should encourage the use of English out of school as well as their first language.

Community Language ProgramA Community Language Program (Mandarin) commenced at Eastwood in 1995. Korean commenced in 2008.

Where possible lessons relate to aspects of the curriculum and are calculated to enrich the school’s awareness of culture as well as equipping students with a foreign language and a better appreciation of their native tongue.